Blood-Forged Chapter 34

200 and some odd years ago

Kliali drew his bow and aimed quicker than any archer in the Kon army. It struck the target’s center cleanly. Kliali ignored the prince Ves’hil’n’s little burst of applause and quickly nocked and fired another arrow. It landed right next to the first, so close that it shaved off some of the first’s wood. Only then did he turn and bow to Ves’hil’n, a wide grin on his face.

Ves’hil’n renewed his clapping with the utmost vigor. “Amazing! Truly amazing! Are all Borderwood Rangers as skilled as you?”

Kliali laughed and flipped his high ponytail in a cocky manner, “we do have to protect all your squishy little citizens from mischievous spirits and the Kuva tribe,” he put a hand on his hip and cocked it to the side, “still, I’m one of the best.”

Ves’hil’n lowered his hands after clapping and pursed his lips, “why join the Rangers? With your skill you would enjoy an easy life if you joined the Kon royal army, you would live a life of luxury. My brother would probably make up some random position for you like he did for Eun.”

Kliali’s eyebrows quirked up, “are you trying to poach me?”
“Just curious.”

“Why are you going along with the soothsayer’s plan? You could stay safe in the palace, enjoying your life to the bitter end. Instead, you’re going to risk your life in a suicide mission.”

“I do not intend to die.”
Kliali rolled his eyes, then plopped down across from Ves’hil’n. Unlike Ves’hil’n he did not have a blanket to protect himself from the chill of the morning dew, though he did not mind. “Well, regardless, why risk yourself?”

Almost every one of the prince’s teeth were visible in his next smile, “I wasn’t going to pass up the opportunity to finally rest my blade against a real enemy.”

For a moment, Kliali just stared at Ves’hil’n with wide eyes, then, “pfft… that was not what I was expecting you to say.”

Ves’hil’n pouted as the other man laughed at him, “and what were you expecting me to say?”

Kliali flicked away a tear that formed at the corner of his eye as he tamped down any more laughter, hiding the gesture with a wave of his hand and an upward tilt of his head. “I was expecting talk of duty, to your people, to your kingdom, or even to your family.”

Ves’hil’n’s cheeks went a little red, “oh, well, uhm, yes, that-that too.”

Kliali’s spine curved in a bit as he propped up his chin in his hand. His amused smile looked a little lopsided when he tilted his head to the side. His pose was far too casual for the presence of a prince but nobody who passed by seemed to bat an eye at the two of them. “I’m not judging you. You just ruined what I was going to say.”

“And what was that?”

Kliali turned his head slightly so that he was talking into his palm, “oh, just that we are not so different. The Borderwood is my home and my kingdom. The Rangers are my people, my family. I feel a sense of duty to them. And I will do anything to protect the Borderwood, including leaving it behind for the first time in my life for a suicide mission.”

Vees’hil’n nodded along, his expression dull but contemplative, “your accent is Kon so I thought you were from here… There are people born in the Borderwood?”

Kliali looked back at Ves’hil’n, smiling once more, “of course! Rangers can rarely leave so if they have or want a family they must bring them to the woods.” Kliali stood, brushing off the back of his pants as if that would wipe away the dampness from the dew. “There are women and children in the Borderwood, fighting alongside the Rangers to slow down the demon’s army and keep your people safe…” Kliali’s face went cold and serious, “I should hope you are prepared to give your life too.”

*

Xeit stared at the ceiling of his room in the Kon palace, his stomach… and his jaw… still in pain.He had promised he would be prepared to leave in two days when they finished gathering supplies. That was two days ago… The hands he had folded over his stomach tightened and he groaned before finally dragging himself out of bed. Some of them were probably already waiting… perhaps they all were. It was improper to keep a prince waiting… not that the second prince of Kon seemed to care a rat’s ass about propriety. He picked up his bag and hooked his sword and whip to hsi belt. He hesitated at the door, glancing back at the last view of comfort and luxury he’d likely have for a while. He slid the door open only to try and fail to promptly shut it again.

A strong hand blocked it from closing completely, before forcing it open. Xeit was forcedto be eye to eye with the brutish woman that had punched him in the face.

“It is time to go, little nobleman.”

Xeit felt his cheeks heat with indignation immediately. She was tall but not taller than him… She was thicker though, in a way he initially dismissed as fat but now that he was looking closer he realized it was muscle, “excuse me, li-?”The woman raised her hand and to his shame, Xeit flinched. “I don’t care who you are. To me you are nothing but one more slimy noble. And I know I’m nothing but filth as well but I have nothing to lose so until Prince Ves’hil’n sends me back to the gallows he took me from, I won’t let you disrespect the soothsayer or the Ranger.”

She took a step back, finally giving Xeit the space to breather. Her face never shifted from its impassive chilliness, “don’t keep the prince waiting. He’s a man who’s actually worth the price of his noble blood.”

Previous Chapter

Next Chapter

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started