The Little Prince and Mr. Assassin Chapter 3

Wide hazel eyes framed by long, dark lashes looked up into Cade’s face. “Why don’t I have a mom?”

“Because you don’t need one… all you need is me.”

Rita smiled, burying her face in Cade’s chest. Her dark curls spread across his chest like inky tendrils. Muffled against his shirt, she said, “right. I only need Daddy and Daddy only need me.”

*

As Cade’s weak and shaking hand was forcibly pushed further, he snapped out of his memories. The knife clattered to the ground and Cade reached forward to staunch the bleeding on Prince Arthur’s throat. Wide blue eyes framed by white-blonde lashes stared at Cade as warm blood seeped through his fingers. He’s the same age as Rita…

“Killing people that want to die isn’t any fun.” Cade said the first excuse that came to mind.

Arthur’s jaw dropped, “but don’t assassins kill for money or…. Or potilics? Aren’t you supposed to kill me?”

Cade rolled his eyes, “politics… And yeah I kill for those reasons too… but I still want it to be fun.” Cade wrapped his shaking fingers around the child’s thin throat to steady his hand. “I’ll make you a deal. Help me kill all your brother’s and then I’ll kill you.”

Completely unperturbed by the hand around his neck or the blood oozing from his wound, Prince Arthur looked up and chewed his bottom lip in thought. After a few seconds he finally said, “ok!”

Drained of all strength, Cade finally let go and slumped against the wall. “Your first mission. Before that wound closes go sneak as far away as you can from here and then scream for guards. Tell them I went over the wall, that I got out.”

Prince Arthur beamed, “ok!”

“And hold the wound and look scared like a normal fucking child!” Cade called as Arthur got to his feet.

The little prince left Mr. Assassin alone in the dark once more.

Previous Chapter

Next Chapter

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started